It was unbelievable.


There I was.

My mouth dropped and my eyes enlarged like saucers .

I was trying to hide the shock that must have been written all over my face.

How was I going to even get into the house?

The doorway was almost totally blocked with boxes and scattered magazines and newspapers.

It was unbelievable.

Its been several years since this happened and the vision is still imprinted in my mind.

 

How can someone have reached this point ?

Well, it really doesn’t matter.

What ?

I repeat, it really doesn’t matter.

Knowing why is not going to help you in any constructive way.

The fact that you have made the decision to do something about it is what is really important.

Finding a solution is what is paramount. You only seek help when you have reached the point that you cant stand the clutter.

Knowing why you hoard or collect too many things isn’t going to help you get organized.

Only when you make the decision to end it can you begin.

Sounds too simple ?

Well lets see.

If you don’t make that major decision what will happen?

You will remain overwhelmed with your surroundings.

Think about that.

Okay, you thought about it. You conclusion is ?

Right, the clutter will continue. You put your health and well being at risk and it can turn into a fire hazard.

Before you reach the point of wanting help you need to be motivated by your lack of living space as well as your loss of friends that are reluctant to visit you, because of the clutter.

Also, don’t discount your loneliness from being isolated from the world.

Many roads we travel cannot be traveled alone. This is  one of them.

In this case trying to do it all alone will be impossible. You need to enlist the help of someone close to you that you trust or a personal organizer.

Do not be intimidated by asking for help.

Asking for help is the first and most important step you will ever take in getting out of the chaos.

There are many places to turn where the help and support you need are available.

With simple steps to help you in making sensible choices you too can help yourself get through this journey.

Reach out to someone.

There is no shame in asking for help.

No one can do everything alone. There are hurdles that need assistance in getting over.

Ask. http://www.hoard-not.com

3 Comments

  1. Wendy

    Oh lord…this is all too familiar. But not me. My mother & father. I grew up in this craziness. I couldn’t fathom it then and I still don’t understand the mind of the hoarder. It was hell growing up in a house of cards.

    • Wendy, from my experience with the problem I can only say that it appears to be a problem with letting go. Literally as well as figuratively.
      I will be starting a new subject on dating for women. I hope you enjoy it and comment as well. Happy New Year to you and yours.
      Marie

  2. I think you can see a train coming with some of these problems, but if you’re in the middle of it, you can’t see the forest for the trees and the problems persist.

Leave a Reply

